Brings  you to DIAS
Dublin Summer School on High Energy Astrophysics
4th - 15th July 2011
Brings  you to UCD

Welcome to the Dublin Summer School on High Energy Astrophysics

The 2011 Dublin Summer School is the first in a series of Summer Schools, hosted and organised by the Centre for Astroparticle Physics and Astrophysics (CAPPA), Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies (DIAS) and The School of Physics, University College Dublin (UCD).

This School will take place from Monday July 4th, to Friday July 15th, in the School of Physics (Building 61), University College Dublin, Belfield. See map.

The rapid and exciting progress in the emerging interdisciplinary field of Astroparticle Physics is attracting ever growing numbers of students and young researchers. However currently very few Universities or Research Centers are able to provide systematic courses on different aspects of this rapidly developing field for young researchers entering the field. The proposed two-week 36-lecture course intends to fill this gap by providing a coherent series of advanced lectures on Observational and Theoretical Cosmology, High Energy Nonthermal Galactic and Extragalactic Source Populations, Origin of Cosmic Rays, Particle Acceleration and Radiation Processes. The lectures will be given by active researchers who will cover the latest developments in their respective areas, but will, at the same time, introduce the basics of the field and give their lectures a pedagogical character.

The "target group" of the School will be graduate students and young researchers with some background in cosmology, high energy physics, astronomy and astrophysics who intend to pursue a research career in Astroparticle Physics.

The number of participants will be limited to 100, and applications will be accepted on a "first come, first served" basis, so please register early.

Participants are highly encouraged to submit a poster presentation, which will be exhibited in a poster session(s) during the school. Proposed contributions should be included in the enrollment form which will be distributed after online registration.

School Directors
Felix Aharonian, (DIAS) and Lorraine Hanlon, (UCD).

Scientific Advisory Committee
J. Arons (Berkeley), L. Bergstrom (Stockholm), C. Cesarsky (CEA/Saclay), A. Loeb (Harvard), M. Longair (Cambridge), J. Silk (Oxford, APC/Paris, John Hopkins), R. Sunyaev (MPE/Garching and IKI/Moscow)

Local Organising Committee
F. Aharonian, L. Hanlon, V. Bosch-Ramon, R. Byrne, M. Chernyakova, L. Drury, L. Fallon, E.Flood, B. Fox, A. Grace, Jamie Keating, A. Martin-Carrillo, G. Murphy, H. O'Donnell, M. Topinka

The email address for further details is

Brings  you to meetinireland
Brings  you to failteireland

This School is supported by Failte Ireland and Meet in Ireland.

Last updated May 03, 2011.